Previous Page

California Museum

1020 O St., Sacramento, CA

Phone:
1-(916)-653-7524

Website:
www.californiamuseum.org

Get Directions

Featured Event

And Still We Rise: Race, Culture and Visual Conversations

Art Show, Mixed Media, Museum, Folk Art/Crafts, History/Science

“And Still We Rise: Race, Culture and Visual Conversations” features 67 story quilts hand-crafted by artists from the Women of Color Quilter’s Network chronicling 400 years of significant events that have transformed social justice for African Americans. Curated by Dr. Carolyn Mazloomi and organized by the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center and the Cincinnati Museum Center, the national traveling exhibition reveals the triumph of the human spirit, inspiring visitors to reflect on the African American experience from the 17th to 21st centuries to commemorate Black History Month at the California Museum. For more information, visit http://www.californiamuseum.org/we-rise.

Information:

• Sun 5/27/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Other Upcoming Events

The Newest Americans

Art Show, Museum, Photography

"The Newest Americans" offers a unique look at the U.S. and the immigration process through the eyes of 28 new citizens. Presented as part of Photography Month Sacramento, the exhibit features portraits by Sam Comen and interviews by Michael Estrin capturing the moments surrounding two naturalization ceremonies in 2017. As immigrants from over 20 countries of origin share why they came to this country and what the American Dream means to them, visitors are invited to join them in taking pride in the diversity, freedom and opportunity that continue to make America a beacon of hope around the world. For more information, visit http://www.californiamuseum.org/newest-americans. Photo by Sam Comen, courtesy of the artist.

Information:

• Sun 5/27/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Sacramento Asian Pacific Film Festival: Beyond Resistance

Film, Ethnic, Fair/Festival

Screenings take place Saturday and Sunday in the auditorium and rotunda.

Information:

• Sat 5/26/18 - Sun 5/27/18 at 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM

The Newest Americans

Art Show, Museum, Photography

"The Newest Americans" offers a unique look at the U.S. and the immigration process through the eyes of 28 new citizens. Presented as part of Photography Month Sacramento, the exhibit features portraits by Sam Comen and interviews by Michael Estrin capturing the moments surrounding two naturalization ceremonies in 2017. As immigrants from over 20 countries of origin share why they came to this country and what the American Dream means to them, visitors are invited to join them in taking pride in the diversity, freedom and opportunity that continue to make America a beacon of hope around the world. For more information, visit http://www.californiamuseum.org/newest-americans. Photo by Sam Comen, courtesy of the artist.

Information:

• Tue 5/29/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 5/30/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/31/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/1/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/2/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/3/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/5/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/6/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/7/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/8/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/9/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/10/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/12/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/13/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/14/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/15/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/16/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/17/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/19/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/20/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/21/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/22/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 6/23/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 6/24/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/26/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 6/27/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/28/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 6/29/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

California Time Traveler Camp: Session 1

Education

Explore 10,000 years of history and culture in the California Time Traveler Camp! Ideal for kids ages 6-11, the week-long camp offers young adventurers engaging learning experiences as they travel back in time to the state’s significant eras. A combination of exhibit tours, excursions to nearby sites and hands-on activities, daily itineraries begin on Monday in modern California and end on Friday in the state’s prehistoric past over 10,000 years ago. Admission: $195.00 per camper plus free kids’ Cub Club Museum membership with registration by Mar. 31, 2018 or $225.00 per camper beginning April 1, 2018. Light snacks included, and extended care sessions are available from 7:00-9:00 am or 4:00-6:00 pm for an additional $50.00 each. For more information or to book, call (916) 654-1729 or visit http://www.CaliforniaMuseum.org/Time-Traveler. Image © 2018 California Museum. All rights reserved.

Information:

• Mon 6/25/18 - Fri 6/29/18 at 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

The Newest Americans

Art Show, Museum, Photography

"The Newest Americans" offers a unique look at the U.S. and the immigration process through the eyes of 28 new citizens. Presented as part of Photography Month Sacramento, the exhibit features portraits by Sam Comen and interviews by Michael Estrin capturing the moments surrounding two naturalization ceremonies in 2017. As immigrants from over 20 countries of origin share why they came to this country and what the American Dream means to them, visitors are invited to join them in taking pride in the diversity, freedom and opportunity that continue to make America a beacon of hope around the world. For more information, visit http://www.californiamuseum.org/newest-americans. Photo by Sam Comen, courtesy of the artist.

Information:

• Sat 6/30/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/1/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/3/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Wed 7/4/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/5/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 7/6/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sat 7/7/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 7/8/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

California Time Traveler Camp: Session 2

Education

Explore 10,000 years of history and culture in the California Time Traveler Camp! Ideal for kids ages 6-11, the week-long camp offers young adventurers engaging learning experiences as they travel back in time to the state’s significant eras. A combination of exhibit tours, excursions to nearby sites and hands-on activities, daily itineraries begin on Monday in modern California and end on Friday in the state’s prehistoric past over 10,000 years ago. Admission: $195.00 per camper plus free kids’ Cub Club Museum membership with registration by Mar. 31, 2018 or $225.00 per camper beginning April 1, 2018. Light snacks included, and extended care sessions are available from 7:00-9:00 am or 4:00-6:00 pm for an additional $50.00 each. For more information or to book, call (916) 654-1729 or visit http://www.CaliforniaMuseum.org/Time-Traveler. Image © 2018 California Museum. All rights reserved.

Information:

• Mon 7/16/18 - Fri 7/20/18 at 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM