Previous Page

Becoming a Woman in the Age of Enlightenment

Art Show,Museum,Painting,Drawings/Works on Paper,Sculpture

"Becoming a Woman in the Age of Enlightenment: French Art from the Horvitz Collection" examines the many paths and stages of women's lives in the art of 18th-century France. Works by Fragonard, Boucher, Watteau, Greuze and others, all drawn from the finest private collection of French art in the United States, show a variety of women, from court ladies to washerwomen, in their many societal roles. From the ancien régime to the Revolution and beyond, women's position and power were transformed. Organized thematically, the exhibition's 100-plus paintings, drawings and sculptures explore cultural and literary archetypes that affected women's self-image, their development from childhood to old age, their romances and their familial responsibilities. In addition to a new understanding of French 18th-century art, "Becoming a Woman" provides a new view of the feminine world at the dawn of modernity.

Dates in your area:
Crocker Art Museum
• Thu 5/24/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 5/25/18 - Sun 5/27/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 5/29/18 - Wed 5/30/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 5/31/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 6/1/18 - Sun 6/3/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/5/18 - Wed 6/6/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/7/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 6/8/18 - Sun 6/10/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/12/18 - Wed 6/13/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/14/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 6/15/18 - Sun 6/17/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/19/18 - Wed 6/20/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/21/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 6/22/18 - Sun 6/24/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 6/26/18 - Wed 6/27/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 6/28/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 6/29/18 - Sun 7/1/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/3/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/5/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 7/6/18 - Sun 7/8/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/10/18 - Wed 7/11/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/12/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 7/13/18 - Sun 7/15/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/17/18 - Wed 7/18/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/19/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 7/20/18 - Sun 7/22/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/24/18 - Wed 7/25/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 7/26/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 7/27/18 - Sun 7/29/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 7/31/18 - Wed 8/1/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 8/2/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 8/3/18 - Sun 8/5/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 8/7/18 - Wed 8/8/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 8/9/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 8/10/18 - Sun 8/12/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 8/14/18 - Wed 8/15/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 8/16/18 at 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
• Fri 8/17/18 - Sun 8/19/18 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM